How to Get your Music onto the Skiza Platform

“How do I get my Music on Skiza?”

This was the most frequently asked question I got when I was working as a promo girl  for Skiza at Kenya Music Week a few years ago  (humble beginnings, but we all start from somewhere).  Most up-coming musicians wanted to know how to get Safaricom interested in their music, while the already established musicians wanted to know how their music got onto the Skiza platform in the first place.

It took me some time to get to know how, but  now that I have this information I’m more than happy to share it with you.

Skiza is a platform on the Safaricom portal used for download of digital content by Safaricom service subscribers. Skiza is simply a personal value-added service for its customers. Safaricom works with appointed content providers, otherwise known as aggregators who are responsible for sourcing, formatting and uploading digital content onto Skiza. Digital content includes music, screen-savers, short video clips. These content providers are the companies you need to talk to if you want to get your music onto Skiza.

Below is the list of  Safaricom’s content providers as of the year 2012 that you could work with to get your content uploaded onto Skiza. Note that different content providers deal in different genres of music, so you can easily identify to whom you should channel your content. Each content provider has their own terms of engagement.

CONTACTS OF CONTENT PROVIDERS FOR SKIZA

1.Interactive Media Services

Content: Bongo and Bollywood

Contact: Nicholas Ndegwa

Physical Address: Teleposta Towers, 20th Floor

Postal Address: P.O. Box 61823-00200 Nairobi

Landline Number: +254 020 341 566/9

Email: nicholas@ims.co.ke

 

2. Liberty Afrika

Content: Gospel and Vernacular

Contact: Olive Githongo and Robert Gichuru

Physical Address: The Mall Westlands, 2nd Floor, Ring Road Westlands

Postal Address: P.O. Box 20000-00100 Nairobi

Cell Phone Number: +254 720 720 720

Landline Number: +254 020 444 2774/5

Email: olive@libertyafrika.co.ke/ bob@libertyafrika.co.ke/ arthur@libertyafrika.co.ke 

 

3. M-Tech Communications

Content: Naija and Wacky Tunes

Contact: Shiro Mwendwa

Physical Address: 4th Floor, Longonot Place, Kijabe Street, Nairobi

Postal Address: P.O. Box 23920-00100 Nairobi

Landline Number: +254 020 222 2399

Email: rm@mtechcomm.com

 

4. Bernsoft Interactive

Content: Reggae, Classical, Dance, Kwaito, Rock, Techno, Country, Sermons and Comedy

Contact: Bernard Kioko

Physical Address: Applewood Park, 4th Floor Office 505, Off Wood Avenue Road, Kilimani

Postal Address: P.O. Box 15177-00100 Nairobi

Landline Number: +254 202 149 401/2

Email: bernard.kioko@bernsoft.com and support@bernsoft.com

 

5. Cellulant

Content: Benga, Zilizopendwa, Taarab, Kenyan Pop and Genge

Contact: Doris Nduta and Lee Maina

Physical Address: P.O. Box 283-00606 Nairobi

Landline Number: +254 020 387 6660/ +254 020 387 5891

Email: doris.nduta@cellulant.com and  lee.maina@cellulant.com 

 

6. Qasiida Technologies

Content: Islamic Content

Contact: Mareh Abdallah and Abdul Haji

Physical Address: IPS Building, Kimathi Street

Postal Address: P.O. Box 234-00610 Nairobi

Cell Phone Number: +254 723 997 799

Email: mareh.abdallah@aol.com and abdulhaji@qtlmedia.com

 

7. Air Networks

Content: Bollywood

Contact: Jaffer Jasho and Chirag Acharya

Physical Address: Doshi Complex, Mombasa Road

Postal Address: P.O.Box 283- 00606 Nairobi

Landline Number: +254 703 030 000

Email: jaffer@air.co.ke and achirag@air.co.ke

 

Of course, you’d also like to find out how to make money from Skiza! Read more on this post- Do Kenyan artists make money through Skiza?

*Disclaimer: List of Safaricom Content Providers was made available at the Kenya Music Week workshop 2012

 

Post by Sarah Ochwada- Entertainment and Sports Lawyer, Nairobi- Kenya

Follow @SnoLegal on twitter

Like my Facebook page- SnoLegal

Subscribe to my YouTube channel SnoLegal TV

 

76 thoughts on “How to Get your Music onto the Skiza Platform

    • Hi Nick, as I respond to your question a millennium later (sorry about that!) Try talking to the folks at Bernsoft Interactive. They have a much larger scope of content than the other aggregators.

    • Hi Elvis, try contacting either Liberty Afrika or the content aggregators most recently appointed or recommended by Safaricom

  1. Pingback: Step by Step Registration of Copyright | SnoLegal

  2. how can I make my song a skiza tune n how will I get cash after pple have started using that song as their skiza tune?

  3. hi. my Album title is horeria kihuhukanio I brought it in your office in Nairobi. and you gave me the following songs their codes 2. ritwa 3. uhithe 4. wendo 5.gituro 6.twaranirie 7.Elohim. except 1. horeria and was my album song. I was told it was not possible to get this code song.

    • Hi Charles, I think your complaint is misdirected as I do not deal with Skiza. This blog is simply a means to share knowledge on how to get music onto Skiza. Kindly check back directly with the office you had visited before

  4. Pingback: Job Half Done For Artists As Skiza Tunes Court Battle Ends in Victory Against PRSPs ·Bottom Line Kenya

  5. am a gospel artiste and want to know how many people have downloaded my skiza tunes. my gmail account.gachanga55@gmail

  6. Tanks for the info😊😊😊😊😊😊
    😊😊😊😊😊😊
    ☁☁😊😊☁☁
    ☁☁😊😊☁☁
    ☁☁😊😊☁☁
    ☁☁😊😊☁☁
    ☁☁☁☁☁☁
    🙏🙏☁☁🙏🙏
    🙏🙏☁☁🙏🙏
    🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏
    🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏
    🙏🙏☁☁🙏🙏
    🙏🙏☁☁🙏🙏
    ☁☁☁☁☁☁
    😁😁☁☁😁😁
    😁😁☁☁😁😁
    ☁😁😁😁😁☁
    ☁☁😁😁☁☁
    ☁😁😁😁😁☁
    😁😁☁☁😁😁
    😁😁☁☁😁😁

  7. thank you so much, i manage artists and i think this one will also help to give them idea how the skiza tune works

  8. thanks a lot am a starting artist ….am called Endless I do rnb will I be accepted to post my song on skiza tunes?0707314581

  9. Hello im isaac, i do poetry and sort of spoken word. I’d love to add my item as a skiza tune please help. Thankyou.

  10. I like this song ” kila mtu atauchukua mzigo wake mwenyewe.” By safina nzovwe kwaya ya uinjilisti KKKT Arusha. I have searched for it but it’s not anywhere in the Skiza tunes offered in the platform. Do something.

  11. This is incredible,thank you for surpporting the upcoming artists,I personally love the idea.
    To add something ontop of the idea ,,we should check on the quality of music being used for the skiza tune there are some music which are not clear we don’t find the content in the songs,,,I humbly request if you can check on that I guess it will be in support of skiza tune platform

  12. How can I get a shorter form of skiza code that will be easy to my followers for example*811*code # instead of sms skiza 6933365 to 811.please help me

Leave a comment